2 States

Standard

2014 - 1I’ve never had an experience of writing a short story before and this is my first time .Well, lets directly start, I don’t wanna waste your time giving silly introduction.Here goes……nothing…!

To make the most of my slowly-slipping-through-my-hands-like-water summer hols , me and my family went to a trip to Kerala. Our main intention was to laze around the resort ,do nothing but eat and sleep all day. At least my intention was the same. Alas, the others had different ideas. They wanted to visit the boring tourist destinations nearby: The thiruvalluvar statue,the golden sun beach, yadda, yadda , yadda. I accompanied them of course, I don’t want to be left around in the room all by myself. All tough in the final day of our trip, I made my eyes all puppy-like and pleaded to stay in the resort itself. They agreed,looking miserable.They wanted a second glimpse of the golden sun beach. I didn’t care.It was not worth all the hassle.

After a sinful breakfast of over-burned dosas and idlis, we went over to a place named ‘fun zone’ within the resort , next to the swimming pool. I begged my mom for ages to go there ( well, not exactly ages, its only since 4 days we got there , but you know what I mean) and she finally came with me. I had this thing on mind to visit this place at least ONCE to see what it got in store for us . I must have known by the name , by naming it fun zone, I taught they had something really FUN , but it was nothing to write home about. It was a well-lit place , buzzing with activities. They had a golf table organized, a car-rom board, a table tennis table and a full shelf filled with BOOKS. At least they had got books ! I went over to the shelf , grabbed a copy of Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief an began reading. My mom glared at me in a look which said , is this why you bought me here ? and started reading an Indian novel. My mom and me were avid readers and never missed an opportunity for a good read.

I was halfway in reading when I felt a hand on my shoulder . I jumped. I was engrossed so much in reading that I hadn’t heard someone calling me. I turned, looking cross, to see who was calling me. A girl of about my age , wearing neon pink shorts and a yellow captioned top was smiling at me. I tried to be polite and asked’yes?’.

“will you come play t-t with me?” she asked with the same warm smile.I looked at my mom hesitantly and she urged me to go. I turned back to her saying ‘sure!’ and got up from my chair and headed towards the table tennis table.

I was a very good t-t player and I doubted she would play well( I am not boasting or anything).”okay, now ” she said and serviced the ball to me . It was a VERY GOOD serve , and I missed. I smiled and gave my ever-best serve and it as a relief to see her miss. “so,my name is Pooja,what’s yours?” I introduced myself.I started to like this girl very much.”mine is Vrithi” she said. What an unusual name? I had trouble saying it.

I guessed she was from north India immediatly . I smiled . Gujarat maybe ? because I liked their food very much.”I am from chennai” I said and that made me miss a shot. Oh my gosh, she is a very good player. “good one” I said and gave her a very nasty service. She picked it up!” I am from surat ” she said . Yes ! Surat is in Gujarat!. We started talking about a various topics. I felt like talking to a long lost friend. I have never gotten along with anyone this quickly and felt weird.

We talked about politics,cooking,dancing,my blog,novel, and a lot of other stuff for nearly 2 hours over easily missing shots.The topic gradually moved on 2 STATES,a hindi movie feauturing a hero from North India and the heroine from Tamil Nadu and their hurdles in life. I sort of liked all songs in that movie.

This was our version of 2 states, only a little different and much more lovable. She said she needed to leave and I persuaded her to stay a little more longer . Two hours passed us by like mere two minutes and it was time to leave before I even knew it. We would probably never meet again in life and I felt more than miserable about it. “you play well” she said, grabbing my Percy Jackson.”you too” I said sheepishly , avoiding her eye. “bye,pooja. lets catch up sometime” she said.I waved back.I wish that could happen,seeing her again,that is.

.She had overtaken my 2-year close pal in a matter of 2 hours. I s’pose this is the best part of our trip. I was glad I went to the fun zone,It was definetly worth it.

You don’t need to be close to each other to be best friends, you can always remain friends in each other’s heart.We remain friends forever, unbounded by time.

Leave a Reply

